Amateurs practice till they get it right. Professionals practice till they can’t get it wrong.

Every week I have the opportunity to lead the worship teams at Cross Point. We’re in Nashville, so we blessed with some incredibly gifted musicians. I love it. 52 times a year I decide how to prepare for Sunday.

When I practice, I have two choices. Choice 1 –  Work on the material until it’s familiar. It works, but it’s an easy way out. I’ve played music long enough that I can get by with a casual listen. I choose “familiarity” when my week is too busy, or I think I can get by and put it on cruise control. When I cheat the discipline of practice, I rely primarily on my talent (my head) to get me through. My focus turns inward. I end up worrying about parts and making mistakes. There’s nothing worse than trying to lead worship with my head stuck in the charts.
Choice 2 – Ingrain the material so far in my head that when it’s “go time” I at least create the space, the opportunity to play from my heart. I listen and rehearse the parts over and over till it sticks without having to think about it. I want to know the material so well that I give myself the best shot at leading with confidence.

Here’s the funny thing. God moves in corporate worship regardless of my preparation. Sometimes, when I’m least prepared he shows up in the biggest way. But, I know that when I’m prepared and have a heart that wants to serve with my personal best, he is honored.

Go practice.

7 Responses to “Amateurs practice till they get it right. Professionals practice till they can’t get it wrong.”

  1. Bryan Jones Says:

    I totally agree. It’s so much more enjoyable leading when you know where your headed. It really sucks when the worshp director/leader doesn’t know what he’s doing. Then us poor bass players have to suffer through it.

    • Yeah man. Are you still playing and leading?

      • Bryan Jones Says:

        Ya. I was leading every Sunday at Calvary but I had to quit: I couldn’t handle family, a demanding job, and a growing ministry so I stepped down. I’m back into it, just a little less frequently. I play bass once a month and lead whenever Marco is out of town. I’ve also been leading at Jason Hart’s church as time allows. I gotta admit, your doing my dream job. I’m a little jealous! But I’m glad your doing it. I would love to come up there and check out what you’re doing sometime.

      • I’d love to see you up here. You should schedule a road trip sometime!

  2. awesome posts Matt! I love your heart.

  3. Ryan Hayes Says:

    Great post. I would love to get to that point, but unfortunately I get bogged down in the “familiarity” mode. Thanks for the challenge. It’s on!

Leave a comment